12:12 a.m. ~ 2003-10-30
all shades of red

there are few situations that are more awkward than having a converstion with a person and you cannot remember their name. after my english class i meet nicole in the library for lunch but she was running late today so i decided to get a table for us since the library cafeteria fills up about 3.5 seconds after the morning classes are dismissed. while i was waiting on line to pay for my food i noticed a girl staring at me (no a little worse, lets say boring holes into my face) and smiling when i returned eye contact.

trying to place her i realized she was in our next class and i racked my head for her name because she stepped off her spot in line that was in front and joined me in mine.

talkative little thing.

"hey michelle right? we have class together next but i think its cancelled and oh i hope it is because i didnt do my paper so i really hope its cancelled because the midterm was hard so i need a good grade on this paper and how do you think you did because i heard there was a huge curve and what are you getting to eat because that sandwhich looks gross and this is why i never eat here but ive seen you around and do you see an empty table where we can sit..."

all in one breath too.

so we sat down and now i feel really awkward asking her name since shes talked for about 15 minutes straight. by the time my soup was half finished i had learned where she went to high school, what her mom does, where she lives, where she used to live, what she was going to school for...but no name. didnt even have a piece of paper i could sneak a look at.

finally nicole shows up all flustered because they messed up something on her transcript and she couldnt stay, talking and walking to and then from our table, leaving me with the nameless girl who wont.stop.talking.

and thats how i spent that hour, listening to her chatter and smiling politely when it was appropriate because i could not get a word in even if i wanted to. im going to have to pay attention during attendace on monday because now im really curious.

the class had been cancelled. usually this would initiate a happy dance of some sort but i had spent all of last night typing away, trying to peel back my eyelids so i could hand in my paper on time. i was not in a very dancy mood when i saw the pink cancellation paper tacked on the door.

so i went to the mall which is a mere 9 minute ride from my school. bought my sisters birthday gift and finally "perks of being a wallflower" because i keep hearing references to its content and im sick of feeling left out.

i read it for two hours before my sign language class, i think its fantastic.

ohhhh and my sign language class has become awkward situation headquarters. our next presentation is "methods of birth control" to be discussed in an intimate manner. i love learning useful vocabulary words.

so my partner and i have to figure out a way to convince the class we are intimate without interrupting into giggles every time he signs "vasectomy" (it is as graphic as you think).

and no throwing things in this presentation's storyline. we have so far tossed a hamster in the air (dont ask) and threw peanuts at monkeys (i have the best partner ever).

im off to read a few more chapters and to get my filthy mind out of the gutter.



take a glimpse back
- - 2003-12-01
rose land - 2003-11-29
this is easy as lovers go - 2003-11-26
closed for repairs - 2003-11-24
you spin me right round baby, right round - 2003-11-23

classicism ~ futurism

The Artist: current
older
profile

The Brushes: guestbook
notes
e-mail



Lyrics written for me today: never gonna know you now, but im gonna love you anyhow


On my wishlist: a little maturity... puh-lease


Next concert: the tickets arrived today!! =)


Free Guestmap from Bravenet

The current mood of btweenthebars@aol.com at www.imood.com


Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)

hosted by DiaryLand.com