1:31 p.m. ~ 2003-06-12
when sky blue gets dark enough to see the colors of the city lights, a trail of ruby red and diamond white hits her like a sunrise

it must be my perfume. or they know i have gum in my bag, i dunno. no matter where i go, random strangers see me as an opportunity for conversation. in school i deliberately pick a seat with empty chairs on either side, i like my learning space and you can bet somebody is going to come and plop down next to me and begin a story about their boyfriend/girlfriend and their weekend and how much they hate their job before i even know their first name. im not an anti-social person, i just dont like knowing your intimate details (and this has not excluded stories about sex) before i even know what to call you. i mean, ill rant here and talk about everything and nothing, but there is a choice to read or not. my diary is not chasing you down the subway platform begging for you to hear my story.

the worst ones happen while traveling. nowhere to hide. you get stuck next to somebody and you're theirs for the remainder of the trip. not even putting on my headphones has stopped these people, they're determined as all hell. yesterday a very pregnant homeless lady came and wedged herself between me and another passenger on the subway and it began. i sighed inwardly. total disregard for my discman and the book i was reading. but i was polite like mamma raised me and listened to what a bastard her boyfriend was and how shes saving up for an apartment, and if only a miracle would come so they would be able to afford it. i felt bad, i did and this is another reason the random conversation annoys me. its always a sob story thats meant to depress you. misery loves company and all that.

while traveling from train to boat to subway and paying attention long enough to transfer i was real proud of myself, i didnt get lost one bit. this is a major accomplishment for somebody who get turned around walking around the corner.

i loved seeing him. it felt so good to smile at him and hug him and feel him squeeze back. it wasnt raining when i arrived so we walked around, and the energy coming from all of the surrounding bars and cafes was on last night. i really love the city at night.

we walked around the east village and down streets that were "punk as fuck" (im a big fan of punk music as was the area and the people living and dining it in)

we ate and walked and ate a little more before it really started pouring and we made a mad dash for his apartment. turned off the lights and watched the lightning illuminate each others faces, held his hand and smelled his skin.

i found that lightning is sexier than candles.

kissed him goodbye, about three times and left smiling. the thought of the two subway transfers to get back down to the ferry and it did not appeal to me at so i hailed a cab and sat back with my eyes closed and listened to the cab driver complain about the weather and how different it is in the country he is from. *sigh* i wonder if he even would have noticed if i fell asleep or if his story would have continued. probably.

now the ferry terminal is an interesting place. i got there about 1am and it was packed. old people in suits, drunk teenagers, boyfriends and girlfriends, younger kids. i sat down and noticed someone i work with and his girlfriend standing in front of the exit and was relieved to see a familiar face. and to have an excuse to walk away from the man eating peanuts and mumbling right next to me. at least he was nice and offered me some.

i got a call on the ferry from other people from work to come down to a local bar, i was ready for bed but a little hungry so we made plans to grab a bite to eat. score. no train ride home but rather a comfy backseat with my friends.

too bad the only place that was open was the diner that is renound for ickyness. case in point, when i got my cheeseburger, the pickle that came with it had a bite taken out of it. i shit you not. to compensate they gave two of my friends free chocolate milk (what the fuck?) and me, the same burger on a different plate with fries. i do believe ill just go hungry next time. and no i did not eat one thing from my plate.

fell right into bed and i barely even remember closing my eyes. woke up at 1230 (ooooh thats nice) and i have the entire day off. its raining. well, fuck a rainy day. im off for the first time in eight days and im determined to enjoy it by imitating my lazy fat cat. lounge is the word of the day.

and drinks tonight at our regular spot. our waiter even joins us now for a drink after the restaurant portion closes. good food, strong drinks. thats how you do a day off.



take a glimpse back
- - 2003-12-01
rose land - 2003-11-29
this is easy as lovers go - 2003-11-26
closed for repairs - 2003-11-24
you spin me right round baby, right round - 2003-11-23

classicism ~ futurism

The Artist: current
older
profile

The Brushes: guestbook
notes
e-mail



Lyrics written for me today: i want you back today, i thought you left your toothbrush here as a way of saying ill always be messing with you


On my wishlist: a ferry ride


Next concert: brand new...hopefully


Free Guestmap from Bravenet

The current mood of btweenthebars@aol.com at www.imood.com


Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)

hosted by DiaryLand.com